Our staff, board of directors, community partners, and donors are dedicated to providing literacy services to adults in Western New York.

OUR PEOPLE

Our Staff

In addition to our volunteer tutors, our organization is staffed by an administrative team that is dedicated to serving the WNY community.

Lisa Casper

Program Manager
lisa.casper@literacybuffalo.org

Erika Kastel

Director of Development
erika@literacybuffalo.org

Amy Mazur

Director of Operations
amy.mazur@literacybuffalo.org

Tara Schafer

Executive Director
tara.schafer@literacybuffalo.org

Courtney Tunmore

Literacy Coordinator
courtney@literacybuffalo.org

Karen Welch

Literacy Coordinator
karen@literacybuffalo.org

Board of Directors

Chairperson
Honorable Katherine Alexander

Vice Chairperson
Dawn Mirand

Secretary
Justine David

Treasurer
Franca Romeo

Members At-Large
Jennifer Atwal
Donna Azam Feldman, MD
Martina Fern
Tiffany R. Perry
Hannah Piscatelli
Rev. Craig D. Pridgen
Linda Ray
Stephanie Rivera

Our Funders

We are grateful for the many organizations that partner and invest in supporting our work so we can fulfill our mission to develop literacy skills, providing free tutoring in Erie and Niagara counties through engagement and training of diverse community volunteers.

  • Buffalo Police Athletic League
  • Dollar General Literacy Foundation
  • Erie County Department of Social Services
  • Erie County Youth Bureau
  • First Niagara Foundation
  • Five Star Bank
  • Garman Family Foundation
  • Jayne & Phil Hubbell Foundation at the Community Foundation for Greater Buffalo
  • Lockport Elk’s Lodge #41
  • M&T Charitable Foundation
  • NYS Department of Education
  • Oath Community Benefit Fund for Niagara County ESD
  • Tegna Foundation
  • The John R. Oishei Foundation
  • The Perelandra Fund at the Community Foundation for Greater Buffalo
  • Tompkins Bank of Castile
  • United Way of Buffalo & Erie County
  • United Way of Greater Niagara
  • Walmart

Copyright © 2019 Literacy New York Buffalo-Niagara, Inc. – Website designed by OtherWisz Creative